Belgium: list of safe countries of origin for 2015 published

Friday, May 15, 2015

The list of safe countries of origin in Belgium, which must be reviewed at least once a year, was approved by Royal Decree on 15 May 2015. It includes the same seven countries as when the list was introduced in 2012: Serbia, Montenegro, Albania, Kosovo, Bosnia and Herzegovina, FYROM and India. Nationals from these countries are subject to an accelerated appeals procedure. 

This item was reproduced with the permission of ECRE from the weekly ELENA legal update supported by the Fundamental Rights and Citizenship Funding Programme and distributed by email. The purpose of these updates is to inform asylum lawyers and legal organizations supporting asylum seekers and refugees of recent developments in the field of asylum law. Please note that the information provided is taken from publicly available information on the internet. Every reasonable effort is made to make the content accurate and up to date at the time each item is published but no responsibility for its accuracy and correctness, or for any consequences of relying on it, is assumed by ECRE, the IRC or its partners.



Safe third country